Gloucestershire Churches Together

Forthcoming Events

Special Sundays and other dates in 2018 with related links

JANUARY 18 - 25 Week of Prayer for Christian Unity www.ctbi.org.uk

JANUARY 27 Holocaust Memorial Day www.hmd.org.uk

JANUARY 28 Homeless Sunday www.housingjustice.org.uk

JANUARY 28 World Leprosy Day www.leprosymission.org.uk

FEBRUARY 7 - 14 National Marriage Week www.marriage-week.org.uk

FEBRUARY 11 Racial Justice Sunday www.ctbi.org.uk

FEBRUARY 11 Church Action on Poverty Sunday www.church-poverty.org.uk

FEBRUARY 26 - MARCH 11 Fairtrade Fortnight www.fairtrade.org.uk

MARCH 2 (Women's) World Day of Prayer www.wwdp.org.uk

MARCH 4 Tear Fund Sunday www.tearfund.org

MARCH 8 International Women’s Day www.internationalwomensday.com

MARCH 25 International Day of Remembrance for the Victims of Slavery and the Transatlantic Slave Trade www.un.org

APRIL 28 International Workers’ Memorial Day www.hazards.org/wmd

MAY 9 Europe Day www.europa.eu

MAY 14 – 20 Mental Health Awareness Week www.mentalhealth.org.uk

MAY 13 - 19 Christian Aid Week www.christianaid.org.uk

JUNE 3 Environment Sunday www.arocha.org & www.greenchristian.org.uk

JUNE 11 – 17 National Carers' Week www.carersweek.org

JUNE 18 – 24 Refugee Week www.ref'ugeeweek.org.uk

JUNE 26 International Day in Support of Victims of Torture www.un.org/events/torture & www.fiacat.org

JULY 13 - 15 Stop in the Name of God: Nationwide Quiet Weekend www.retreats.org.uk

JULY 8 Sea Sunday www.seasunday.org & www.apostleshipofthesea.org.uk

SEPTEMBER 1 – OCTOBER 4 Creation Time www.ctbi.org.uk & www.ecen.org

SEPTEMBER 9 Education Sunday www.cte.org.uk

SEPTEMBER 23 Peacemaking Sunday www.jointpublicissues.org.uk/peacemakingsunday

SEPTEMBER (UN International Day of Peace – 21 September)

SEPTEMBER 30 Back to Church Sunday www.seasonofinvitation.co.uk

OCTOBER 10 World Mental Health Day www.mentalhealth.org.uk & www.mind.org.uk

OCTOBER 14 – 21 Prisons Week www.prisonsweek.org

OCTOBER 14 - 21 Week of Prayer for World Peace www.weekofprayerforworldpeace.com

OCTOBER TBC 21 Freedom Sunday www.stopthetraffik.org & www.freedomsundayglobal.org

OCTOBER 21 Healthcare Sunday www.healthcaresunday.org.uk

OCTOBER 21 - 28 One World Week www.oneworldweek.org

OCTOBER 24 United Nations Day www.un.org

NOVEMBER 11 Remembrance Sunday (and Anniversary of the end of WW1) www.ctbi.org.uk

NOVEMBER 11 – 18 Interfaith Week www.interfaithweek.co.uk

NOVEMBER TBC 18 International Day of Prayer for the Persecuted Church www.idop.org & www.csw.org.uk

NOVEMBER 18 World Day of Remembrance for Road Traffic Victims www.worlddayofremembrance.org

NOVEMBER 25 International Day for the Elimination of Violence against Women www.un.org

DECEMBER 1 World Aids Day www.worldaidsday.org

DECEMBER 10 Human Rights Day www.un.org/events/humanrights

 

For Methodist Special Sundays and other useful information go to www.methodist.org.uk

For CAFOD Fast Days, go to www.cafod.org.uk