Gloucestershire Churches Together

Forthcoming Events

Special Sundays and other dates in 2017 with related links

JANUARY - 18-25 Week of Prayer for Christian Unity www.ctbi.org.uk

JANUARY 22 Homeless Sunday www.housingjustice.org.uk

JANUARY 27 Holocaust Memorial Day www.hmd.org.uk

JANUARY 29 World Leprosy Day www.leprosymission.org.uk

FEBRUARY 7 - 14 National Marriage Week www.marriage-week.org.uk

FEBRUARY 12 Racial Justice Sunday www.ctbi.org.uk

FEBRUARY 26 Poverty Action Sunday www.church-poverty.org.uk

FEBRUARY 27 - MARCH 12 Fairtrade Fortnight www.fairtrade.org.uk

MARCH 3 (Women's) World Day of Prayer www.wwdp.org.uk

MARCH 5 Tear Fund Sunday www.tearfund.org

MARCH 8 International Women’s Day www.internationalwomensday.com

MARCH 25 International Day of Remembrance for the Victims of Slavery and the Transatlantic Slave Trade www.un.org

APRIL 28 International Workers’ Memorial Day www.hazards.org/wmd

MAY 8 – 14 Mental Health Awareness Week www.mentalhealth.org.uk

MAY 9 Europe Day www.europa.eu

MAY 14 - 20 Christian Aid Week www.christianaid.org.uk

JUNE 4 Environment Sunday www.arocha.org & www.greenchristian.org.uk

JUNE 12 – National Carers' Week www.carersweek.org

JUNE 19 – 25 Refugee Week www.ref'ugeeweek.org.uk

JUNE 26 International Day in Support of Victims of Torture www.un.org/events/torture & www.fiacat.org

JULY 7 - 9 Stop in the Name of God: Nationwide Quiet Weekend www.retreats.org.uk

JULY 9 Sea Sunday www.seasunday.org & www.apostleshipofthesea.org.uk

JULY 16 tbc Disability Sunday www.churchesforall.org.uk

SEPTEMBER 1 – OCTOBER 4 Creation Time www.ctbi.org.uk & www.ecen.org

SEPTEMBER 10 Education Sunday www.cte.org.uk

SEPTEMBER 17 Peacemaking Sunday www.jointpublicissues.org.uk/peacemakingsunday
(UN International Day of Peace – 21 September)

SEPTEMBER 24 Back to Church Sunday www.seasonofinvitation.co.uk

OCTOBER 8 – 14 Prisons Week www.prisonsweek.org

OCTOBER 10 World Mental Health Day www.mentalhealth.org.uk & www.mind.org.uk

OCTOBER 15 Healthcare Sunday www.healthcaresunday.org.uk

OCTOBER 15 - 22 tbc Week of Prayer for World Peace www.weekofprayerforworldpeace.com

OCTOBER 15 Freedom Sunday www.stopthetraffik.org

OCTOBER 22 - 29 One World Week www.oneworldweek.org

OCTOBER 24 United Nations Day www.un.org

OCTOBER 29 Bible Sunday www.biblesociety.org.uk

NOVEMBER 12 Remembrance Sunday www.ctbi.org.uk

NOVEMBER 12 - 19 tbc Interfaith Week www.interfaithweek.co.uk

NOVEMBER 19 International Day of Prayer for the Persecuted Church www.idop.org & www.csw.org.uk

NOVEMBER 19 World Day of Remembrance for Road Traffic Victims www.roadpeace.org

NOVEMBER 25 International Day for the Elimination of Violence against Women www.un.org

DECEMBER 1 World Aids Day www.worldaidsday.org

DECEMBER 10 Human Rights Day www.un.org/events/humanrights

 

For Methodist Special Sundays and other useful information go to www.methodist.org.uk

For CAFOD Fast Days, go to www.cafod.org.uk